Animal Cell Cytokinesis Process Guide

Animal cell cytokinesis is an essential cellular process when animal cells start to divide through meiosis and mitosis. You can learn how these two steps add to cellular separation that allows animal cells to separate in sexual or somatic method. The types of cells that are separating affect the reproduction of animal cells. Mitosis reproduction is done by somatic cells non-sexually and physically while meiosis division is done by sexual cells in gametes way for example through ova and sperm. It is similar for these types of reproduction though there are differences regarding the number of produced cells and the steps involved in the processes.

Animal Cell Cytokinesis

Animal Cell Cytokinesis

Animal Cell Cytokinesis Through Mitosis

There are five stages cell must go through in Mitosis. The animal cell cytokinesis starts with interphase stage where an animal cell is maturing and duplicating its chromosomes to prepare for reproduction. It is a significant step for mitosis to start though it is not simply related to mitosis. Prophase is the second step when the chromatids start to divide, and the softening of the nuclear wrapper and the arrangement of centrioles are starting. Then, the metaphase start when a metaphase plate is forming as chromosomes line is turned up by the chromatid crossways the core of the cell.


It continues with the anaphase when the chromatids are pulled apart by the spindles of the cell to the ends of the cell letting an identical amount of hereditary material in the daughter and parent cells. Telophase is the final stage when animal cell cytokinesis occurs. There is a contractile ring or a structure attached by an animal cell as it starts to divide. Cleavage burrow will occur when a myosin protein tighten the contractile ring tighter until it eventually makes a burrow. The daughter and parent cells will divide completely as this process continues.

Animal Cell Cytokinesis Through Meiosis

The separation of sexual gametes like ova and the sperm cells is called meiosis just like mitosis. It also has similar stages to mitosis. There is the stage of meiosis 1 with prophase 1, metaphase 1, anaphase 1, telophase 1 continued with meiosis 2 with prophase 2, metaphase 2, anaphase 2, and telophase 2. Meiosis 1 allows the cells to separate into 2 haploid cells while meiosis II allows the cells to separate into two more haploid cells. There are twice processes in meiosis to complete. Haploid sex cells just get half the chromosomes and when they are fertilized, they will get the other half. Diploid cells will never be fertilized so they get all genetic material. Animal cell cytokinesis in meiosis happens two times and creates four haploid cells.